TsunamiReady Communities

TsunamiReady is a voluntary community recognition program that promotes tsunami hazard preparedness as an active collaboration among federal, state/territorial and local emergency management agencies, community leaders and the public. 

The main goal of the program is to improve public safety before, during and after tsunami emergencies. It aims to do this by establishing guidelines for a standard level of capability to mitigate, prepare for and respond to tsunamis and working with communities to help them meet the guidelines and ultimately become recognized as TsunamiReady by the National Weather Service.

Member organizations of the Redwood Coast Tsunami Work Group help facilitate the process to become TsunamiReady with local jurisdictions. However, it is up to the local jurisdiction to fully implement the requirements listed in the guidelines above. Typically, a local community advocate helps support the process to become TsunamiReady. If you are interested in helping your community become TsunamiReady, contact Ryan Aylward at the National Weather Service in Eureka, California at ryan.aylward@noaa.gov

Communities currently TsunamiReady in Northwest California:

  • Crescent City
  • Yurok Tribe and Klamath Community
  • Big Lagoon Rancheria and Community
  • Redwood National and State Parks
  • Orick
  • Manila - Tier II - First in the country!
  • Samoa
  • King Salmon - Tier II - Second in the country!

Communities nearly TsunamiReady:

  • Smith River
  • Fields Landing
  • Fort Bragg

Map of all TsunamiReady Communities